Facebook Twitter YouTube

Bookmark and Share



President - Master Gray Patterson and all International Taekwon-Do schools and members



Appointed Board Members:

  • Ms Nicola Tse
  • Ms Sheryl Chase 
  • Master Kane Raukura

Elected Board Members:

  • Master Mahesh Bhana
  • Master Mark Banicevich
  • Mr Nick Lourantos (Chairman)


  • CEO - Mr Mike Thompson
  • Operations Executive - Mr Shaun Tolley
  • Database Administrator and Finance - Mrs Shirley Pygott
  • Computer Consultant / Database Development - Mr Neil Breen
  • TKD Kubz Co-ordinator - Mrs Debbie Hart
  • Kiwisport Co-ordinator - Mr Brendan Doogan
  • Communications & Social Media Coordinator and TKDTalk - Mr Matt Pilcher
  • Regional Directors:
    Auckland North - Mrs Michelle Cagney
    Counties Manukau - Mrs Natasha Iotua
    Midlands - Mr Mark Pettit
    Central Districts - Mr Graham Walse
    Wellington - Mr Craig Hannah
    South Island - TBA

Advisory Panel

Master Evan Davidson, Master Paul McPhail, Master Mahesh Bhana.

Advisor Groups

Lena Walton    Master Evan Davidson
The Advisory Panel have another announcement regarding our Advisor groups. Mrs Lena Walton will be stepping down as Standards & Discipline Advisor and Master Evan Davidson will take over this role.

Master Davison was previously our S&D Director but in recent years has been concentrating on his international position as Chairman of the ITF Ethics Committee. Master Davidson is also a former Policeman and of course former President of ITFNZ - so perfectly qualified for the job.

Mrs Walton took on the role of the Wellington RD in 1997 as the Wellington S&D Representative. She continued to hold that position for 23 years.

During that time she held other leadership roles within the Organisation: High Performance Advisor and was on the Organising Committee for the 2010 Oceanias and 2011 World Championships. She held the S&D Advisor role since June 2013.

Being one of the seniors in Wellington, she actively took lead roles where she made a positive difference. Mrs Walton says she found each committee role challenging, but we appreciated how she took on each situation with professionalism and with a level headed approach.

In January 2021, Mrs Walton will be stepping down from being the S&D Advisor and S&D Representative for Wellington. She will continue as co-Instructor of Berhampore Club

Our sincere thanks to Mrs Walton for all her work throughout the years, some of which were particularly challenging as the S&D Director. Mrs Walton led by example, and made very real contributions to our art and organisation.  Thanks Mrs Walton!

Dane Canton     Darren Andrews
The Advisory Panel are pleased to announce that Mr Dane Canton has been approved to be our newest addition to the Standards & Discipline Advisor Group. Mr Canton is a well respected Senior in our organisation. A big welcome to Mr Canton and thanks for taking on this role.

Mr Canton takes over from Mr Darren Andrews, who has decided to take a well deserved break, having been a part of the S&D Group since 2008. Apart from Mrs Wallton he is longest standing S&D Representative. We fully support Mr Andrew's decision as he takes time out to be with his wonderful family. 

Thank you Mr Andrews for 11 years of commitment & your 'that makes total sense' input into S&D. Mrs Walton is grateful for his supportive nature over the years.

Thank you Mr Andrews!

Technical Advisor Group

Technical Advisor & Chief Examiner
Master Paul McPhail (8th dan)

Master Evan Davidson (8th dan)
Master Rocky Rounthwaite (8th dan)
Master Mahesh Bhana (8th dan)
Master James Rimmer (8th dan)

Standards & Discipline Advisor Group

Standards & Discipline Advisor
Mrs Lena Walton

Mr Murray Greig (AN)
Ms Fran Marshall (CM)
Mr Simon Mallinson (MD)
Mr Dane Canton (CD)
Mrs Lena Walton (WN)
Dr Lorraine Eade (SI)

Tournament Advisor Group

Tournament Advisor
Mr Gwyn Brown

Mr Grant Eccles (Umpire Training)
Mr Darren Ward (Umpire Training)
Mrs Natasha Iotua (Tournaments)
Mrs Charlotte Blackwell (Tournaments)
Mr Dave Blackwell (IT & Tournaments)
Mr Scott Sutherland (IT & Tournaments)
Mr Brendan Doogan (Competitor/Umpire Liaison)
Mrs Debbie Hart (Umpire Training)
Mr Mark Trotter (Tournaments)


High Performance Advisor Group

High Performance Advisor
Master Steve Pellow (7th dan)

Group Members:
Mr Luke Thompson (3rd dan)
Mr Matt Davey (4th dan)

Coaching & Management Staff the 2020-21 campaign World Cup (Slovenia) and World Champs (Finland).

Head Coach
- Master Gray Patterson

Assistant Coaches

Master Lawrence Mantjika, Mrs Suzanne Patterson, Mr Mark Trotter, Miss Kara Timmer.

Management Team
Co-Managers - Mr Nathan and Mrs Paula Bowden

Other Personnel

Instructors' Induction Course leader
Mr Mike Lowe (5th dan)

Instructors' Update Course leader
Master Paul McPhail (8th dan)

Instructor Development Officers
(And Interim Instructors' Course leaders)

Master Mahesh Bhana (AN & CM)
Master James Rimmer (ML)
Master Gray Patterson (WG & SI)
Master Rocky Rounthwaite (CD)

Authorised New Zealand Examiners

Former Patron
The Late Honourable Sir David Lange

Contact Us



International Taekwon-Do Federation
Members Home | About | Events | Locations | HP | TKD Talk | News | Reference
Contact Us  Sponsors Merchandise Governance  Sign In 
Terms & Conditions : Privacy : © 1996 - 2020 International Taekwon-Do Foundation of New Zealand. Please do not re-publish material without permission.